top of page

31 Days of Scary/Halloween Movies

A list of films that'll make you laugh, scream, and possibly shed a tear


Every October, I shuffle through a wall of DVDs, VHS tapes, or streaming services to find every Halloween film I can't go without seeing during the season.


The only thing is that it's sometimes hard for me to remember which movies I need to watch before a murdered turkey with bread crumbs shoved up its butt gets slammed into a fiery oven. Props to you if you're watching any of these movies on Thanksgiving, but they'll seem better fit while watching in a dark living room with fake cobwebs strung in the corners.


Here's a list of Halloween or horror movies I get a kick outta watching at least once a year.


DISCLAIMER: You don't need to watch in this order, but if you want to I've created a calendar located at the bottom of this article.


1. The Lighthouse

This movie is a new addition to my growing list of creepy movies. It's not necessarily scary and it's more strange than anything. I like the performances by both actors even though I can barely understand what they're saying. Throw on the close captioning!


2. Pet Sematary

It doesn't matter which version you watch. The first one is a classic because it's got Herman Munster in it and a cameo from Stephen King, but the remake with John Lithgow is pretty decent, too. There's totally something creepy about babies slashing your Achilles tendon.


3. Monster House

Okay, let's switch it up here with a comical animated film featuring a very angry Steve Buscemi. It's as if the Goonies were a cartoon. That's what I get from the kids and their banter that really carries the movie.


4. Creature From The Black Lagoon

This story is more heartbreaking than scary. I know it was originally intended to be a horror film, but this guy's just misunderstood. He just wants a hug! Also, the crew that eventually comes after him is in his front yard — they're pretending like the creature has done something wrong. Keep an eye out for the truly romantic scene when the creature is swimming underneath his love interest.


5. Mama

This movie made me literally hop up out of my seat a couple of times. It's fun, really weird, and makes you wonder why Mowgli didn't turn out like these two kids after being raised by something that isn't exactly "mother material."


6. Sleepy Hollow

In my opinion, this is one of Tim Burton's best. I mean, it's got Johnny Depp, Christina Ricci, and Christopher Walken. On top of all of that, it's kind of an eery storyline.


7. Addams Family Values

Okay, this one can actually be watched around Thanksgiving, too. Let's be honest, though. It's better to enjoy a couple of kids trying to kill their newest sibling, and then getting shipped off to a summer camp that's full of nerds — their opinion, not mine.


8. The Shining

I didn't really care about this movie when I first watched it. I was in high school and was waiting for something scary to pop out and get my undies in a bunch, but the movie is more than just a horror film. It's a wonderful story about getting "cabin fever" and attempting to murder your own family.


9. Casper

"Can I keep you?" Casper, you've always had me from the opening scene in the '90s film. I remember collecting the plastic hand puppets from Pizza Hut. I believe I was one shy of the complete set — something I'll likely never have. I'll always have this movie, though.


10. A Nightmare on Elm Street

The original film is pretty scary. I waited for years to actually watch it and finally viewed the classic film in my twenties. This is one of the first or the very first movies Johnny Depp stars in and I think he even dies first, too. SPOILER ALERT.


11. The Faculty

The late '90s were all about getting a bunch of good lookin' actors together and then making it seem like they're still young enough to be in high school. In a lot of cases, it didn't work but in this specific movie, it was great. Plus, the teachers are spooky as heck.


12. The Witches

Goodness! These witches are some of the strangest characters I've seen in a movie. If you look close enough, a lot of the witches in the hotel's event room are men stunt doubles in scary latex. Here's something fun to do: Count the number of times the little kid screams "Grandma!" throughout the movie.


13. Friday the 13th

Okay, there's a lot of these movies in the series. I can't tell you which one to watch, but to watch the one you enjoy the most, instead. Or perhaps, watch the worst one out of the group. In my opinion, the worst are Jason X and Jason Goes to Hell.


14. Killer Klowns From Outer Space

I decided to share one of my favorite scenes in this wonderful film. Sure, it's super cheesy but the clowns look scarier than they actually act in the movie, and they've got people wrapped up in cotton candy cocoons. What's not to love?


15. It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

The fact that Charlie Brown managed to cut way too many holes in his white sheet is enough to sit down and watch this TV movie. It's less than 30 minutes long and makes me laugh out loud. Also, it gets me pumped to watch the Thanksgiving and Christmas specials.

16. Hocus Pocus

This movie has the ability to put a spell on you. People that don't normally watch movies like this end up loving it. The cast, the comedy, the zombie, and the talking cat are just a few things that make the movie an instant Halloween classic.


17. Beetlejuice

Tim Burton is making an encore on the list and it's in the form of one of Michael Keaton's best performances — my opinion, of course. When he wasn't playing Batman in the '90s, he was a rude dude with a sweet outfit. Be sure you say his name three times before watching.


18. Drag Me To Hell

Yep, that's a fly on someone's lip. The movie makes me feel uncomfortable and because of that, it's a success. Sam Raimi has made some strange movies over time, but this one really takes the cake. Oh, and that fly doesn't stay on her lip for long.


19. Hellraiser

If possible, watch this movie on VHS because it's somehow more terrifying than watching it in high definition. I think it's the cruddy quality that gives me the creeps when I see it on a VCR. Make sure you rewind the tape! For all we know, the spirit of Pinhead himself will come off the tape and murder you in your sleep.


20. House

I know this movie is intended to be scary, but it cracks me up more than movies intended to be comedies. That's why I enjoy watching it so much. I don't want to say too much about it if you haven't seen it, but I let your mind marinade on the image I chose to use.

21. Bride of Frankenstein

Here's a throwback to 1935. The acting seems a little corny now, but this movie helms some of the most iconic scenes in horror history. You wait nearly till the end of the movie to see Frankenstein's monster to meet his match, and boy is she surprised to see him.


22. The Monster Squad

"Kick him in the nards!" If you've seen the movie, you'll recognize that line. Frankenstein's monster makes an appearance in this movie, along with the Creature and his fickle friends. The real gem of the movie is the dialogue between all of the kids in the film.


23. Poltergeist

Sometimes you've gotta exorcised the demons, and in this film, it's a lot of fun to watch. I don't remember much about the sequels, but I did see the remake — not too shabby. The original film is definitely the version you'll want to watch this Halloween, though.


24. Young Frankenstein

If you love the Frankenstein movie then you'll love this spoof. Mel Brooks really hit it out of the park with this movie, and I like it a little more each time I watch it. Again, this is one of those movies I didn't really appreciate until I was older.


25. The People Under the Stairs

Holy moly! This one is weird, spine-chilling, and funny, too. There's a lot happening in this movie and if you're a fan of the TV show Twin Peaks, you'll notice some familiar faces. Additionally, the people under the stairs aren't even the creepiest part about the movie.


26. Child’s Play

It looks like a scary unaired episode of 7th Heaven, huh? It's not. It's one of the best horror films of all time! Okay, that's just my opinion but you've gotta love demonic dolls that harbor the soul of a serial killer from Chicago. The first two films are my favorite but they're all a lot of fun to watch while babysitting a young child.


27. Frankenweenie

Growing up, I loved watching this TV movie short (it's only about 30 minutes long) by Tim Burton. It's actually one of the first shorts he made before moving on to bigger things like Pee-wee's Big Adventure and Beetlejuice. There's a long film, too, and it's animated if you're in the mood for something lengthier. However, this short packs a punch of emotions.


28. Elvira, Mistress of the Dark

As a kid, I thought I was watching something I shouldn't have and as an adult, I still feel like I need to look over my shoulder. But no one's mom is going to walk in. Watch this movie with an open mind and let the laughs spill out. It's funnier than you may think.


29. The Wolf Man

Here's a classic you can throw on with an open mind as well. He's a man, then he's a wolf, and then he's a wolf man. It's an important movie to see at least once in your life because it created a whole new genre of horror. I don't have enough fingers to keep track of how many movies there are involving werewolves.


30. Evil Dead II

You read that correctly. I'm talking about the sequel here and not the first. Here's a few reasons why: It's funnier, grosser, bloodier, and better quality than the first film. At first glance, the big wigs in the land of those who give movies their ratings wanted to give it an x-rating. The reason why it's so similar to the original film is that Sam Raimi lost the rights to it.


31. Halloween

It only makes sense to watch this movie during the Halloween season. Also, I feel like you can watch any of the movies in the series. I really enjoyed the new one that was co-written by Danny McBride, but I also get a kick out of the original.


Other movies to consider:

  • Psycho (the original)

  • Critters (any of them)

  • The Stuff

  • Pumpkinhead

  • Cujo

  • Silence of the Lambs


Here’s the calendar:

By Matthew Sterner.

For more content, subscribe or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

1 comment

1 comentário


Royce Nathaniel Benton
Royce Nathaniel Benton
05 de out. de 2020

Great list! 👺

Curtir

Featured Posts...

Keep up with the latest...

bottom of page