top of page

"Human Popsicle" Makes History in Austria

"I'm fighting the pain by visualizing and drawing on positive emotions."

This is a pretty cool story so just chill out and read about it.


I was channeling Arnold Schwarzenegger's character from the film Batman and Robin (Mr. Freeze) on that first sentence. I'll stop now. It's out of my system. I'll cool it.

Josef Koeberl broke his own world record after spending a wild and crazy amount of time buried in ice cubes.


Sure he looked like a frozen turkey when he got out of the ice but being buried in the frozen cubes is all in a day's work.


The insane stunt drew in a small crowd in the town square of Melk in Lower Austria. As you can see in the photos below, Koeberl was trying to beat his previous world record of two hours.


Volunteers emptied bags of ice cubes into the tank until Koeberl was buried up to his neck.

"I'm fighting the pain by visualizing and drawing on positive emotions so I can dampen this wave of pain," he told reporters during the stunt. "That way I can endure."

He managed to remain in the tank for 2 hours, 30 minutes, and 57 seconds.


Next up, he wants to beat his own record, yet again, in Los Angeles next year. Whether he will be able to actually do it for even longer however remains to be seen.

By Matthew Sterner

For more content, subscribe or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Comments


Featured Posts...

Keep up with the latest...

bottom of page