top of page

The Monster’s Nightmare: 5D, Part One

Part One of a three-part epic fantasy

Burned into ash on the cemet’ry gate

Their spell seals strong souls but can’t fix our fate

I turned the key clockwise, and it just turned back

Whispers through trees turned the cloudless sky black

Learned when an asp bit a much baser snake

I call upon arts that make ancient tombs quake

“Cursed are the souls with such venomous hate

Wisps flow and encircle the dead in a spate

First from above to feed: Godly attack

Swirling down fast, neither speed nor force lack

Worst pits await souls who made the mistake

Ensnaring the Gods who make dusk and daybreak"


Trying the key again, my power grows

Energy, called upon – now the lock glows

Dying in dirt is a seed still unsown

Light wakes the night in a way that’s well known

Flying in fast is a beast from old lore

Sorcery stirs it from sleeping once more

Cunning and killing are all that it knows

Diving with jaws and claws out for its foes

Running, I reach for an old dragon’s bone

Digging through relics from when the moon shone

Stunning and shocking the beast to its core

Crashing, the creature cries out a loud roar

Crawling as close as it can to then speak

It gnashes its teeth when it opens its beak

Calling to me, a poor try at deceit

“Grind that bone now and admit your defeat”

Stalling for time, hoping that it still feeds

“Crushing this now isn’t one of my needs”

I cast a fast spell and the beast starts to shriek

Marrow fills glyphs in the bone in a streak

The blast’s such a force that it has no retreat

Sinew and cartilage spill out, replete

Last for the beast, the chimera then bleeds

Innards outpour, and it dies on the reeds


The gate then unlatches as torches ignite

A path leads the way, and it seems to invite

Fate draws me forward, and I must abide

Though passage is tough for the trail isn’t wide

Straight up a hill and toward tombs up on high

Through overgrown grass that goes up to thigh

The gravestones are ancient; my brethren’s last sight

The battle was lost, but our time is this night

Enslaved bones will win when moon changes tide

Fighting together once I am inside

Engraved stones still bodies whose souls never die

The war is now starting – man: to horrify

Drawn torch from a sconce, I stop on the spot

Booming, a heavy stone drops – like I’m caught

Pawn of a trap – made for man, not a God

Thunderous sounds, they may frighten a clod

Gone is the way out, but I have my arts

Roaring, my command spell echoes then parts

Lit are the torches – I’m off like a shot

Racing for friends that I never forgot

Hit a dead end; I can see the façade

Though moving so quickly, I spot something odd

Writ on a wall, a worn warning imparts

The speediest spirits, here, feed on all hearts

Glowing light almost leads; now I found the latch

Beneath me sounds hollow, just barely detatch’t

Knowing the stone moves, I head down the stairs

Below winding staircase, met by scared stares

“Going to defend our guard, we King’s Elite

Under God’s protection, we shall ne’er be beat”

Chopping my arm, “I have power you can’t match

My arts make blood boil… And I’m cooking a batch”

Stopping my attack is a talisman one wears

Sorcery lights through his shirt and it glares

Lopping it from neck – protected – is a feat

Spell cast on stone column: “Got someone to meet”


Grinding the talisman ‘til its power’s released

Battl’ng in five dimensions ‘til my pow’r’s increased

Finding no time to waste, I unsheathe my sword

Fight is child’s play with the power it can ward

Binding blood to the blade can cut holes in the skies

Facing an army of these is truly unwise

“Take solace, but you didn’t mean the least”

Driven to the ground, the men need a priest

Making this better, I drill armor ‘til they’re cored

Stomping, I drink and feel strength half restored

Breaking this curse so my family can rise

And razing their castle ‘til the King dies


Last of my line perhaps; there’s no one around

The lowest of times, I hope I’ve already found

Past chambers, down corridor; until I descend

A ground floor: a graveyard I’m looking to mend

Cast with crystal to reflect light between them

The planet itself starts to tremble at my whim

Shattering each crystal and thrown to the ground

Each shard releases power: Gods it astounds

Scattering powder ‘cross the cavern to send

The fragments flying so my family I’ll defend

Mattering most to me is freeing these phantoms

Crystals aside, now we are their problems

Stone tombs, each with ash spells, ensnare loved ones

Cast spell with dragon bone while the blood runs

Bone glowing, I fill glyphs with some from my kind

And use my own blood; this time, I won’t mind

Lone soldier no more – I release a whole army

My arts will now save us from all who harmed me

I summon the power from near and far suns

And reach to dimension that awes and stuns

Why suddenly it turns out that we’re in a bind

My art was flawless, but they need to be dined

Thy stunningly saved and finally free

A truly magical meal – sure it will be

The rumbling made the King send out a squad

To check on the tombs because so help his God

The mumbling cursed us abominations

“Just make sure that they’re still on vacations”

The bumbling fool – we now walk with the livin’

And we’ll make sure that you won’t be forgiven

To send out twelve soldiers, your judgment was flawed

They all fell quickly while my growing group gnawed

Go lend out your lives; we’ll sell terminations

They all die young in those slow-learning nations

No men die here or really get sick even

They were just held by a curse they were given


Spells broke one by one; no killing the pure

Our power increases like I found the cure

Well from guards’ remains and the stars

The pow’r from the moon and blood from afar

Hellish dimensions draw marrow, sinew, gore

We’ll never be weak like we were just before

“Back with the living..? I was doing just fine, sir”

We guffaw and welcome back Lev Alexander

“Flack for fighting dragon and suffering scar”

I chuckle and tell them my tales of bizarre

Tracked and trained Dyer, the beasts from old lore

No one laughs near them – face all teeth – omnivore


Also, when mouths close, ears snap like a beak

Echolocation lets them see if they’re meek

False though is the claim that Dyers ne’er die

Mythic and beastly – wait – I heard a cry

Calls, no question, from a Dyer in my trap

Arts led him to me like I held a map

Tapped a small bet and paid in a week

Up the crag of jagged rock to go peek

Trapped but not hurt, so I fed venison thigh

I spent time with the youngster – I won’t even lie

Wrapped in blankets in a basket of burlap

I bent metal for a cage and a lead with a strap

Night came where I didn’t need the cage or lead

We hunted as one; bonding, fighting with speed

Sight, aim, fire – they’re expired – we move along

A team of two ripping through King’s Army’s strong

Right famous to some; infamous to majority

My partner made me feel safe, no sword with me

No fear of each other since we always feed

Sacrifice for him; same, he returned deed

Woe here gripped me since we’d never belong

All my friends martyrs; the world did us wrong

Though years had passed – still, dragon priority

We were both injured under its authority

For more content, subscribe or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.


1 comment

1 Comment


Royce Nathaniel Benton
Royce Nathaniel Benton
Aug 28, 2020

Very Interesting Read. Visiting part 2 to read. ⚔️🗡🛡🏹

Like

Featured Posts...

Keep up with the latest...

bottom of page