top of page

Weighting for Mindfulness

My path to using weightlifting as a form of mental strength-building


I first entered a weight room at the ripe age of sixteen. Deep into playing sports, myself, and attending a high school with a nationally-recognized football team, supplementing our training with weightlifting became part of the game.


I quickly found myself establishing a challenging relationship; one that called for new levels of inner strength to meet the requirements of the external weight being presented to me. Synchronistically enough, this couldn't have come along at a more opportune time because my high school years required more mental strength than I'd previously thought possible. So, stronger on multiple levels, I began to grow.


Intrigue turned to routine. Routine turned to practice. Practice turned to passion. From incorporating weights into my at-home workouts, instructing bootcamps and personal training sessions, and discovering community through competitive sports such as CrossFit and Strongman, I explored the different forms and formulas that weightlifting had to offer.

The game further changed as my focus evolved from how much weight I could move to honoring the degree of focus and intention required by weightlifting.


Foundational and imperative aspects of strength-training are form and mind-muscle connection: topics that demand complete focus in order to maintain safety and attain efficient results.


For years, the target results that I had in scope were physically-driven. As other portions of my life progressed in a more self-loving, compassion-filled direction, so became the focus of my relationship with weights.


Dissipating were the days of striving to lift heavier and move faster through my routines. Instead, I began letting my ego step aside, picking up lighter weights, and more intentionally focusing on connecting my mind with my body. My movement with my breath. My purpose, with such a profound aim to establish equilibrium through all aspects of my being: mind, body, and spirit.


They say that consciously focusing the mind is the backbone of meditation. I say it's also the backbone of weightlifting.


Many of us are taught to view exercise as a means to an end. For example, "You work out to get in shape for your upcoming beach trip or custom-fit wedding dress then you stop working out." In truth and mental health, the Zen of exercise is to do it for its own sake; transforming it into a practice of mindfulness.

"Any activity can be done mindfully, but what turns an ordinary exercise into a potent and benefit-rich form of meditation is one's awareness and intention."

I'm incredibly thankful for the empowering path that weightlifting has taken me on. It's taught me teamwork. It's taught me self-compassion. It's taught me integrity and trust. And it's taught me that strengthening the body takes on a whole new depth when it's rooted in a strengthening of the mind.


New to the idea or action of lifting weights? Here is a super brief beginner's FAQ.

Want to learn more about the mental health benefits of weightlifting? Start your trip down that rabbit hole here.

Already got a strength-training routine and want to increase your application of mindfulness? Cool, check this out!


Here's to strength, folks! Inside and out.


For more content, subscribe or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Comentários


Featured Posts...

Keep up with the latest...

bottom of page